I know that many of you are following along and so I am sorry that I have not posted here in a few days. With that apology in mind, we will be posting as we can and there may be times when we go a few days without an update.

This weekend though was a big step forward for mom, she was removed from the ventilator on Saturday morning…HOORAY. That is a huge step in the right direction and her Oxygen levels have been mostly stable since she began breathing on her own again.

As I have said before, we have all been learning to adapt our definition of ‘good’ as we go. If you asked me a month ago if I would be happy that mom was breathing on her own I would have told you that it sounds better than if she weren’t. Sitting here today, it feels a like quite a bit more of an accomplishment. We are very happy for her and it is nice for all of us to be able to talk with her and see her beautiful blue eyes looking back at us.

The next few days will hopefully bring a move out of the ICU and to a more standard level of care (still in the hospital), and hopefully as she progresses through the series of IV antibiotics that are keeping the infections at bay, eventually a discharge from Virginia Mason entirely. Not to get too far ahead of ourselves, we are simply enjoying our time with mom right now. All of my kids have been to see her, even Sophia (who declined visits with Grandma while she was intubated), and mom could not have been happier.

Although she may kill me for posting it, here is a picture of mom in her room.

