Thanks to Joe’s birthday, readership has increased. Today, I took my mom to visit Jan in the afternoon. Her oxygen support level was turned down which is good. I told my former-RN mother everything I knew about the different tubes and stuff but I don’t know very much. It was much calmer in her room today. Yesterday seemed like nonstop visits from doctors and nurses and lab techs. Today, no interruptions, at least not during our visit.

My mom told her we’re praying for her and I let her know about the other people who commented on Joe’s Facebook that are praying for her. She scrunched up her nose when I wiped a tear (irritation or emotion, I don’t know–it was there when we arrived) from her eye. And I thought of the verse in Revelation, copied and pasted here for my edification: He will wipe away every tear from their eyes, and death shall be no more, neither shall there be mourning, nor crying, nor pain anymore, for the former things have passed away.

I titled this post The Grandma Bond because my mom and Jan have spent lots of time together while taking care of the grand kids. My mom is quite fond of Jan and even though she is soft spoken, often says: Jan is such a nice person! Which is about as exuberant of praise my mom doles out about anyone. I really appreciate that the two grandmas are bonded by the shared love of their grand kids and also personal affection for each other.

Irene

