Jan Frank is my sister’s mother-in-law, my brother-in-law’s mom, my nieces and nephew’s grandma, my friend, and so much more. Here’s a photo of Jan from when we went whale-watching together.

Jan on boat in Hawaii

sunset whale watching in Hawaii, April 2010

Jan was recently diagnosed with multiple myeloma, which you can read more about here and here. Pending insurance approval of medically advanced bone marrow transplants, she will begin treatment with radiation and back surgery followed by chemotherapy and the bone transplants.

Jan is not one to sit still and loves to chat. In her fragile state, we thought a blog was in order to help you keep up-to-date with her progress and also keep her in touch with you. Please feel free to comment and ask questions. I know the community of cancer fighters and survivors is strong in the blogosphere.

Irene

